Broad vs narrow topic

by Julia Stueber
in
Comments are off for this post.

Home Page Forums Ask Anything Broad vs narrow topic

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Julia Stueber
    Participant

Hi everyone!

I am at the point of deciding if I want to go broad or narrow in my topic. As a food coach my broadest topic is of course nutrition in general – thousands of others do that. My speciality is celiac disease, food intolerances and allergies as well as mindful eating. As celiac disease and gluten free living is the one closest to my stomach, err heart, I wanted to really dig deep on that one, not only offering the knowledge (i.e. of how to recognize gluten free, how to read labels etc.) but also emotional support in how to deal with negative or stupid comments… I already have a sweet short course on Udemy about how to deal emotionally with all this.
    Does it make sense to stay narrow on the gluten free topic for the moment and then broaden or add topics later onto i.e. Dairy free living, mindful eating or Paleo?

My website I want to use for this is called Eating with Feeling and would allow both broad and narrow…
    Please help a confused German mind…
    Julia

Mark Rhodes
    Participant

Julia,

My own competition is famous doctors. Looking at their websites, some go really narrow (like a single illness), and some go amazingly broad. Broad scares me a little bit for myself. It means more research to cover the things I can’t just rattle off the top of my head. I actually do go broader, but I’m always trying to pull back to my core competency.

From that point of view, I think I would draw the line at what you want to be known as the expert for.

Don’t let me limit you, though.

Mark

Don Sturgill
    Participant

My two bits is that your thinking to stay narrow until the time is right (if ever) to broaden is a good one, Julia. The more focused the light, the brighter it shines.

Julia Stueber
    Participant